Ypsilanti Schools
Ypsilanti community Schools
Ypsilanti, Ypsilanti Township, and Corwin Township, North Dakota

Constructed in 1916, this two-room school replaced the earlier one-room schoolhouse in Ypsilanti, North Dakota

Friday, July 9, 1982

All School Reunion


This documentation presented here contains the names of teachers who have taught in the Ypsilanti Community, from the time of its first settlement through 1982.

The names of students are also included.

Although the original Ypsilanti Community Centennial publication included the addresses of those for whom addresses were available, I have opted to exclude street addresses from this web publication.


Ypsilanti township had three rural schools, built in the early 1900s. They were known as the Madden, Berge, and Lien schools.

Corwin township also had three one-room schools, built in the early 1900s. These were the Wibstad (Domek), Aljoe, and Beckman schools.

The rural schools were discontinued in the 1940s because of decreased enrollment, after which students were bused to Ypsilanti.

In 1981, the Ypsilanti School was closed due to consolidation, after which students are bused to Jamestown or Montpelier.

All School Reunion
Most of the information put included in this web document was obtained from the publication by the Ypsilanti Community Centennial Committee of 1982.
I have omitted street addresses from the text.

Original School

The original school was a one-room frame building, located in the northeast part of Ypsilanti, where the dump was later located.